The Big Site Update

Ok, so I haven’t posted on this site for a while, but like millions of others I’ve been tied up with social networking. I’ve enjoyed it, but there’s been one question I keep asking myself – “what happens when Facebook goes the way of MySpace and is replaced by something else, or get’s sued and shuts down?” It is a concern, the possibility of loosing everything I ever posted or uploaded to Facebook and the other social networks, all that time and effort wasted….

The other day I decided to go back to my old blog, “yay!”. I’m now back in control, I can find my old posts easier and keep everything backed up so that I never loose anything. The problem was that the blog was very out of date, ugly and was not integrated with any social media, so going back to my blog would leave my Facebook and Twitter subscribers out in the cold!

I found a new WordPress theme called Greyzed and customised it for a few hours to get it how I wanted it. I then went and registered on Twitterfeed. I used it many years ago and found it useful, but they’ve updated it quite a bit since then. Like with Hootsuite (and many others) it can now not only read my RSS feed and automatically post the latest entries to Twitter, but now it can also share my ramblings to Facebook, LinkedIn and several other social networks. I’m just concentrating on Facebook and Twitter for now as potential employers viewing my LinkedIn profile may not appreciate some of my spur-of-the-moment posts.

There’s still a lot of stuff I want to do with this blog. However, at the same time I need to do some of my coursework that’s due in January 2012 and do some more writing of my upcoming bestselling novel, so stay tuned…..

Leave a Reply

